Dear Biomass Specialists,

Nominations for the prestigious Johannes Linneborn Prize, given each year at the European Biomass Conference and Exhibition for "Outstanding Contributions to the Development of Energy from Biomass", are being accepted through 24 February 2017.

The nomination form is short and simple, and can be submitted online.

You can find further details on

We thank you in advance for your contribution that will guarantee a high level of qualified candidates.

Yours sincerely,

Prof. Wim van Swaaij
University of Twente, Faculty of Science and Technology

Linneborn Prize Chairman

The Prize was established in 1994 for outstanding contributions to the development of energy from biomass. The Prize is named in honour of Johannes Linneborn, a pioneer of wood gasification. Deeply rooted in human ethics, he had far-reaching visions on the world's development, on health, transport and agriculture.

The Linneborn Prize is awarded every year to an individual for outstanding merits in biomass.

Linneborn Prize Committee

1994  Giuliano Grassi
1996  Ralph Overend
1998  David Hall
2000  Ton Beenackers
2002  Philippe Chartier
2004  Spyros Kyritsis
2005  Wolfgang Palz
2007  Tony Bridgwater
2008  José Roberto Moreira
2009  Bryan M. Jenkins
2010  Kyriakos Maniatis
2011  Kai Sipilä
2012  Hermann Hofbauer
2013  Liisa Viikari
2013  Wim Van Swaaij - Special Award
2014  Yuan Zhenhong
2015  Andrè Faaij
2016  John (Jack) Saddler

  1. The nominee must have scientific, technical or managerial merit in the development of biomass, attained over a long period of continuous achievements
  2. It is primarily a European Award but can occasionally be awarded to a Non-European
  3. The Prize is awarded to a single individual. The Prize cannot be shared nor given to an institution or team
  4. A person may not nominate him/herself
  5. A person may not nominate someone from his/her organisation but always someone from another organisation
  6. Members of the Linneborn Prize Committee cannot be nominated
  7. Every nomination should be accompanied by a page of why the person who nominates someone believes that he/she deserves to get the award

More information on



  JRC  UNESCO    Global Bioenergy Partnership (GBEP)  

CEI - Central European Initiative         EUBIA        WCRE


  EUBIA       LECO  



 Facebook    Twitter




Organised by

with the support of

ETA-Florence Renewable Energies



Platinum Media Partners

BEsustainable Magazine                                

This email was sent by: ETA-Florence Renewable Energies
Via A. Giacomini 28, Firenze, 50132 Italy